Twenty One Pilots – Heathens



[su_note note_color=”#fef5c4″][su_list icon=”icon: arrow-right” icon_color=”black”]
  • Song Name: Heathens
  • Artist Name / Band Name: Twenty One Pilots
  • Featuring: N/A
  • Album Name: Suicide Squad: The Album
  • Produced By: Tyler Joseph & Mike Elizondo
  • Release Date: June 15, 2016
  • Record Label: N/A
  • Genre: Alternative Rock, Soundtrack, Screen, Rock
  • Written By: Tyler Joseph
  • Performance: Peaked at No. 2
  • Sampled In: 2016 MASHUP by Sam Tsui (Ft. Kurt Hugo Schneider)
  • Cover By:
    • Heathens by First To Eleven
    • Heathens by Halestorm
  • Remixed By:
    • Heathens (Triple Thr33 Remix) by twenty one pilots (Ft. Triple Thr33)
    • Heathens Freestyle by Vic Mensa
    • Heathens (feat. MUTEMATH) by twenty one pilots (Ft. MUTEMATH)

Twenty One Pilots – Heathens Review

If you guys haven’t heard of twenty one pilots, you will definitely now, because the duo are all set and smashing impressions with the release of their new single Heathens.  Have you guys heard of the upcoming DC Comic’s movie Suicide Squad? Well fans you are instore for a surprise, because this track is a part of the official soundtrack of the upcoming motion picture.

The song saw official release on the June 16, 2016 through Atlantic Records and Warner Bros. Records, the song was leaked the previous day on June 15th, which made a scramble for the Twenty one Pilots fans out there. Heading into twitter, Facebook, Sound cloud to desperately get their hands on what could be the new possible music.

The Song reached in the top 40’s of most of the region’s Top 100 charts like Canada, Australia, and Ireland, UK singles charts positioning it at No.33. Whereas on the US Top 100 the track busted in direct at a sweet No.14. If it wasn’t good, it wouldn’t be there so quick so high up!

From a reputation that Twenty one Pilots do not follow a consistent genre in their music, Heathens is no different as well. Upon hearing the song, you do realize the scope and magnitude of the song which is quite strong and self-imposing on the listener.

Unlike previous songs, Heathens is a completely different ball game, coming strong with a very dark musical tone. In the beginning it’s the piano keys that give you that elemental feel, with the accompanying of slow progressed drum beats. Giving it a strong base, then follows through with base. Which is heavy almost giving it a Post Grunge feel in some areas.

Tyler Joseph’s vocals set exactly where they need to be based upon being a motion picture track complementing the dark lyrics and their mystical nature like “All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don’t make any sudden moves. You don’t know the half of the abuse” These lyrics reach out to the listener crisp and with emphasis.

Twenty One pilots are surely serious with what they produce, and just don’t dish out music for the fun of it. They keep their music fresh and unique to their audience and maintain that level of creative spark we need in music.

A music video was released on June 21, 2016 on Fueled by Ramen YouTube channel.

Music Rating
Lyrics Rating
Video Rating
Vocal Quality



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.