Tory Lanez – LUV



  • Song Name: Luv
  • Artist Name / Band Name: Tory Lanez
  • Produced By: Cashmere Cat & Benny Blanco
  • Featuring: N/A
  • Album Name: I Told You
  • Release Date: June 10, 2016
  • Genre: Toronto, Genius Canada, Rap, R&B
  • Record Label: Mad Love, Interscope
  • Written By: Anthony St. Aubyn Kelly, Mark Anthony, Stephen John Marsden, Wayne Burton, Benjamin Josehp Levin, Magnus Hoiberg & Tory Lanez
  • Performance: Peaked at No. N/A
  • Sampled In: N/A
  • Cover By: N/A
  • Remixed By: N/A

Tory Lanez – LUV Review

The slowly rising Canadian rapper Tory Lanez is all set to release a new single for his upcoming new album I Told You. While the artist had previously been spending a while doing his “Fargo Friday” releases, but until recently shifted attention in releasing his newest single ‘Luv’.

Though the artist is yet to release an official album yet. It was enough for the artist, to go this long without a credible album launch. All that changed when the artist announced that an album is underway.

Leading the soon to arrive album, is his single Luv, which saw release on June 10, 2016 under Mad Love Records and Interscope Records.

Produced by Cashmere Cat and Benny Blanco, the song is an extensive work and interpolation of the classic dancehall of Tanto Metro and Devonte’s “Everyone Falls in Love”.

Though the single is a rework, luv sees addition of auto tune, and modern Bop base rhythm is added to the tune over all.

It might not be one of those heart throb of a song, but it sure feels like having the elements of Timberlake’s ‘Can’t Stop the Feeling’ and Drake’s ‘One Dance’

Even if Luv does not see much penetration into the charts, the single has all the potential to be a solid club banger and receive some good air play for its catchy tune and solid rhythms.

Likewise, the singe is getting some good attention with critics and fans around the US Alternative Charts. Whereas Luv stands at No.16 on the US Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs and No.46 US Billboard Hot 100. For an artist not long in the industry, that’s a commendable start.

Luv talks about being completely okay with the idea of falling in love and be straight forward in approaching who you desire. To put it how he does “And I know from the first time, the first time. I seen your love, you got me baby. Even though girl I know that I will fall for you”

He goes on to singing, in a way which is an act of confession, leaving the girl to decide about all what he said.

The song does have excessive chorus and bridge repetitions that prolong the flow of the song, on the other hand, the composition is spot on and can’t be made any better.

An accompanying music video was released on June 24, 2016 on Tory’s Vevo account on YouTube.

Music Rating
Lyrics Rating
Video Rating
Vocal Quality


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Anti-Spam Quiz:

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.