Katy Perry – Wide Awake



[su_note note_color=”#fef5c4″][su_list icon=”icon: arrow-right” icon_color=”black”]
  • Song Name: Wide Awake
  • Artist Name / Band Name: Katy Perry
  • Featuring:
  • Produced By: Cirkut & Dr. Luke
  • Album Name: Teenage Dream: The Complete Confection
  • Release Date: May 22, 2012
  • Genre: pop
  • Record Label:
  • Written By: Bonnie McKee, Cirkut, Max Martin, Dr. Luke & Katy Perry
  • Performance: Peaked at No.
  • Sampled In: 
  • Cover By:
  • Remixed By:

Katy Perry – Wide Awake Review

Katy Perry continued her phenomenal streak of chart toppers from the album ‘Teenage Dream.’ The eighth and at the same time the final single released from the CD, ‘Wide Awake,’ is often described by music critics as among the best crafted songs in mainstream pop for summer of 2012. It ushers the continuous maturation of Perry’s music and sound.

Without a doubt, there is a hint of elegance in the song. It sounds a lot better than most of the previous hits that propelled Perry to public attention.

However, there is another tone of melancholy in this track, something that is consistent with her other songs, which mostly talk about her supposedly personal upheavals. A distinct feature of this track is the message of inspiration to overcome storms that life brings.

This power ballad has elements of dance pop and electronic music. The expansive production is simply impressive. It can be mapped between the candid appeal of ‘Firework’ and the ethereal sound ‘E.T.’ gives.

The song begins powerfully through subtle echo effects that accompany the first verse. Everyone can easily agree that her astonishing voice never sounded this well in the past. The lyrics, of course, convey striking emotions.

Music Rating
Lyrics Rating
Video Rating
Vocal Quality



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.