Lukas Graham – Mama Said



[su_note note_color=”#fef5c4″][su_list icon=”icon: arrow-right” icon_color=”black”]
  • Song Name: Mama Said
  • Artist Name / Band Name: Lukas Graham
  • Produced By: Pilo & Future Animals
  • Featuring: N/A
  • Album Name: Lukas Graham (Blue Album)
  • Release Date: June 23, 2014
  • Genre: Denmark, Soul, Pop
  • Record Label: Copenhagen, Island Warner, Bros.
  • Written By: Morten Ristorp, Lukas Forchhammer Graham & Stefan Forrest
  • Performance: Peaked at No. N/A
  • Sampled In: N/A
  • Cover By: N/A
  • Remixed By: N/A

Lukas Graham – Mama Said Review

Not so long ago Lukas Graham released ‘7 Years’ a song on which the band started to get all sorts of attention and airplay. For its shear emotional nature, and heart touching truthful lyrics. The band had made a statement and the fans got a whip of what Graham is capable of doing.

While the rest of their self-titled album is as emotionally compelling and heartwarming as before, the artist adds yet another single to the list – ‘Mama Said’.  A highly altered version of Annie’s “It’s A Hard Knock Life”

The single Mama Said is the third track on the artist self-titled album and saw release on 23 June 2014 under Copenhagen Records. The track was written by Lucas himself and a bunch of other people, while the production was by Future Animals and Pilo.

The Danish bands single saw great success in Denmark, Norway and Sweden and is well on its way to matching the success of ‘7 years’. The single crossed almost 85 million streams on Spotify and crossed past 35 million views on the official video.

To get the ball rolling further, the artist performed the song live recently on Conan and on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon. No wonder is he getting famous, Americans love Danish music now.

Mama Said has topped out charts in Denmark, whereas remained in the early top 10 in most of Europe. The single stood on No 42 on the ARIA charts, and No.13 in Sweden. Elsewhere in the North America the single stands at No.81 on the US Billboard Hot 100 and is steadily seeing a good rise.

Coming back on the track, with crafty and creative piano intro featuring some children’s voices reciting “Mama Said” feels very relaxing and home-ish before transitioning into Lucas’s verse.

The song talks about how a mother comforts her son about living a normal down to earth life, while the son observed the standards of the people around him to be comparatively higher. It’s basically about reassurance to manage life within limited means.  “We never really went buying clothes. New shoes once a year and then”.

The only bad part of this song, is the high pitch of Forchhammer’s “And it was OK” which sounds like Olaf from frozen singing out his snow balls out. It’s rather hilarious, the thought of it.

Nonetheless, the song is over all a solid reassurance of the bands continued emphasis on truthful topics with much relation to everyone.

The artist’s official music video was released on Oct 23, 2015 on their personal account on YouTube.


Music Rating
Lyrics Rating
Video Rating
Vocal Quality


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.