Jason Aldean – Lights Come On



[su_note note_color=”#fef5c4″][su_list icon=”icon: arrow-right” icon_color=”black”]
  • Song Name: Lights Come On
  • Artist Name / Band Name: Jason Aldean
  • Featuring:
  • Album Name: They Don’t Know
  • Produced By: Michael Knox
  • Release Date: April 1, 2016
  • Record Label: Broken Bow
  • Genre: Country
  • Written By: Florida Georgia Line, The Warren Brothers, Jordan Schmidt & Jimmy Robbins
  • Performance: Peaked at No. N/A
  • Sampled In: N/A
  • Cover By: N/A
  • Remixed By: N/A

Jason Aldean – Lights Come On Review

Jason Aldean has just flicked a coin and chosen to change that mind sets of yours; He is all set to stir out crowds at the center stage with the release of his new upcoming single Lights Come On. The country musician has come back to some of his olds roots of involving, modern elements in country music to a whole new generation of country music lovers out there.  Not that it’s a bad thing, the song isn’t that special frankly. It’s you, fans and him on the highroad basically.

Lights Come On sits as the lead single from the artist’s upcoming seventh studio album. The track saw release on April 1, 2016 on the country radio. No, this isn’t an April fool’s joke? I’m serious!

You know what the weird part is, it took six people to write this song. I mean really?  Jimmy Robbins, Jordan Schmidt, Brad Warren, Brett Warren, and Florida Georgia Line and members Tyler Hubbard, Brian Kelley are the core pool of writers. Wow! We should be expecting platinum sales by now really, but on chart list the song shows a decent performance, peaking at No.43 on the US Hot 100’s coming all the way down to No.60 currently. However, the single showed promising results in the Canada Country and the US Hot country song, coming in at no.8 and no.7 respectively.

Many people and reviews out there have criticized the song for a lot of rock instrumentation, while others favor it. To be honest, its fine; I reckon It gives it a whole new feel and dimension and adds that bit of character to what the song is all about.

Heavy electric guitar usage and fast paced drumming makes sure Aldean completely smokes that center arena and those music hungry crowds all together! Having a strong rock influence the song is a good bet to make that go to ‘Concert Song’ after having that forty hour work week.

The song is depicted in a Monologue-ish way, with Aldean expressing his opinion of his life and career; from performing as an underdog to filling arenas and stadiums; specially his appreciation for his fans and their importance for him to perform his best for. He speaks in the beginning, and between bridges. The heart of song lies in the energy charged bridge of “When the lights come on, everybody’s screaming. Lighters in the sky, yeah, everybody’s singing. Every word to every song to a girl to take it home tonight. When the lights come on, everybody’s feeling. A hallelujah high from the floor to the ceiling”

A video was released in June 2016, directed by Shaun Silvia.

Music Rating
Lyrics Rating
Video Rating
Vocal Quality


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.