• Song Name: Sit Still, Look Pretty
  • Artist Name / Band Name: Daya
  • Featuring: N/A
  • Produced By: Gino Barletta & Scott Bruzenak
  • Album Name: Sit Still, Look Pretty
  • Release Date: September 4, 2015
  • Genre: Pop
  • Record Label: Artbeatz, Z, RED
  • Written By: Scott Bruzenak, Mike Campbell, Britten Newbill & Gino Barletta
  • Performance: Peaked at No. N/A
  • Sampled In: N/A
  • Cover By: N/A
  • Remixed By: N/A

Daya – Sit Still, Look Pretty Review

Grace Martine Tandon or Daya as we all know her, is all about her newest single Sit Still, Look Pretty that is making solid headlines in the industry and charts.

If you don’t know about Daya, try hooking up your headphones to the 17 year old’s sassy anthem ‘Hide Away’, which was a solid attention grabber and a huge hit among fans and overseas. She also featured on The Chainsmokers’ song “Don’t Let Me Down” – which went onto to peak at No.3 on Hot 100.

From then onwards, Daya hasn’t looked back and has rolled out Sit Still, Look Pretty as her second single to her debut extended EP and upcoming studio album of the same name.

The inspiration for the song comes from Daya’s personal accord, of how people use to comment on her appearance and regularly facing stereotypes in her surroundings. According to a statement by Daya: “It’s about being a girl that goes after her own dreams and really fights for what she wants, and not letting anyone get in the way of that ”

This is what we love about Daya, her music is about empowerment, especially for women.  Sit Still, Look Pretty is a solid jab from the young music prodigy containing the underlying message towards the world.

While that’s the response, let’s look into figures. Even though the single debuted at no.100 on the US Billboard Hot 100, since then the single has reached to No.29. Making this her second consecutive top 40 track, which has already been marked as Gold by RIAA USA.

Hey! We have no worries with the girl’s potential. She has the heart, the personality and the songs to spread her views.

While most of her EP was penned during her time spent in high school, Sit Still, Look Pretty and others follow a very honest view of what is to be like to grow up where a “girl has to find herself in a male-driven industry”

Sit Still, Look Pretty is a funky and whistle beat drop combo of energy that pulsates out in a charged chorus to wipe any girls tears with “But this gal right here’s gonna rule the world Yeah, that is where I’m gonna be because I wanna be”

Yet another bold and socially strong song by an aspiring young artist. A music video was published on Sep 9, 2016.

Music Rating
Lyrics Rating
Video Rating
Vocal Quality


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Anti-Spam Quiz: